Meaningful Beauty Has Mysterious French Melon Ingredient

by Theresa on January 29, 2009 · 110 comments

Cindy Crawford and Meaningful BeautyMeaningful Beauty is based on a skin care formulation developed by Dr. Jean-Louis Sebagh, a French skin care expert.  Cindy Crawford is of course, a natural beauty who claims that she has never had any Botox or facial procedures done. I was a bit curious if this product was all hype or not since Cindy has put her name and reputation on the line.

What’s included in the Meaningful Beauty Kit

  • Skin Cleanser
  • Day moisturizer
  • Night moisturizer
  • Eye cream
  • Facial Masque
  • Décolleté and neck crème
  • Glowing Serum

There is also an auto ship policy where they send you product every 90 days and bill your card $30.00 ever 30 days.

Claims

  • Decreases the appearance of pore size
  • Prevents premature aging
  • Smooth visible appearance of wrinkles
  • Reduce skin redness and roughness
  • SPF 20 protection
  • The Mysterious French Melon Ingredient

Mysterious Ingredients

Meaningful Beauty has French Melon as an ingredientThe site is very scarce on details.  All they seem to keep talk about is this mysterious rare French melon.  Dr. Sebagh believes that some melons can defend our skin from the breakdown of collagen, which happens with age. The Meaningful Beauty site describes this ingredient as

A rare French melon that stayed fresh and firm much longer than similar varieties. This melon contained a powerful “first generation” antioxidant (superoxide dismutase), which preliminary studies suggest, prevents the formation of new free radical species. By utilizing this first generation antioxidant, Meaningful Beauty's formulas are designed to help protect your skin against the visible signs of aging in a remarkable way.

So the key active ingredient in this [tags]meaningful beauty[/tags]product is a powerful antioxidant that defends against the breakdown of collagen. OK many skin care products do this!! Apparently it is common to extract antioxidants from various fruits and use them as a leading source of antioxidants in many skin care products. By the way, antioxidants protect against cell oxidization, which is a leading cause of skin cell death.  So I'm wondering why should Cindy's product be so much better than the rest? Because she says so? And the clever little story about the French melon? I'm sure it does work to anti oxidize the skin than this product. The problem is that the melon is all that is special about the product.

Good Points

  • Meaningful Beauty Product LineProduct comes with a 60 day money back guarantee.
  • Some ladies, (but not all) swear buy this product and couldn't live without it. They find their skin softer, less oily, nice glow, fewer breakouts.

Bad Points

  • There are many products on the market that act as an antioxidant to protect the skin. So I honestly wouldn't have to order this specific product for just that purpose.
  • You have to be willing to pay $30 every month for continued shipment of your product.
  • Although the “rare” French melon extract is highly touted, it appears pretty far down on the ingredient list.
  • Multi-step beauty care regimen is a bit time consuming.
  • Product can only be ordered from their shipment plan.
  • Some reports of shipments being slow.
  • Many customers had issues with customer service people having bad attitudes.
  • Some ladies tried to cancel their order and then customer service tried to talk them into buying more.
  • Some ladies had the following effects on their skin. Feeling like they had burned, raw, tight skin or major skin break outs. So it doesn’t work for all women. It’s just the same as in my Proactiv review.

Some confusion with shipment and billing description on the site

On the Meaningful Beauty order page I can see where this may cause some confusion. They state that you first receive an introductory kit which is a 30 day supply along with 2 free bonus gifts, all for $30 plus shipping and handling.

Then after 30 days, you'll receive our regular 3 month supply of Meaningful Beauty every 90 days at the guaranteed low price of just $29.95 a month plus $8.95 s&h per shipment.

So you actually get billed the $29.95 30 days after your initial purchase. There is also a 60 day money back guarantee. So I can see how ladies could assume you could try the product for 60 days without getting billed. I called Guthy Renker and they mentioned that if you want to stop the auto ship you should call in before the first 30 days to cancel you're order.

By the way, it looks like Meaningful Beauty is also being sold on eBay. If you are concerned about any recurring billing issues but still want to give it a try, you can purchase it there.  Also I thought it might be nice if you're out of only one or two items you don't have to buy the whole kit. Just buy what you need as you run out.

Meaningful Beauty's story is intriguing and we all want to have skin like Cindy. After all, you’d think that she’d know a thing or two about skin care. But once you get past the great story, I'm not sure if Meaningful Beauty products really hold up to scrutiny. I'd definitely want to know more about the product ingredients and not just the mysterious French melon.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 110 comments… read them below or add one }

1 deb dianese May 3, 2011

SERIOUSLY..HOW MUCH DOES THE WEALTHY MS. CRAWFORD MAKE OVER THIS CRAP!? SHE SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HERSELF..
THE PRODUCTS ARE LESS THAN SUB-PAR, THE RETURN POLICY DOES NOT HOLD UP.. ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER, THEY WILL USE IT!!! EVEN A F T E R YOU’VE CANCELLED!!
IT IS NOTHING LIKE THEY SHOW ON TV.. IF WE ALL HAD A DIET REGIMEN AND TRAINOR AND THE MONEY THAT CINDY HAS, LET’S FACE IT, WE WOULD LOOK LIKE HER.. A COUPLE OF TUBES AIN’T GONNA DO IT. PLUS, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE STAFF AT THAT GUTHY RENKER WHATEVER..? FORGET IT.. THERE IS N O CUSTOMER SERVICE.
SPEND $9 AT YOUR LOCAL GROCERY STORE AND BUY SOME OIL OF OLAY AND GET SUPERIOR RESULTS!

2 Kristina May 18, 2011

I am 34 and have been using MB for 3 weeks now and I continue to read reviews as I am not sure if I will continue to use it or not. The first week I noticed a non-oily, dewey look which was nice and I imagine in the winter it would be a blessing here in MI where I have had some extreeme dryness around my eyes. I specifically like the night cream and the wrinkle smoothing capsules and have noticed a reduction in the lines between my brows and the one on my forehead.

The neck cream, glowing serum, and eye cream were nothing special. I wondered if they were all the same product in different containers at one point.

I felt as clean as I do when I use body soap on my face with the cleanser but it was a bit more moisturizing. Not forty something dollars a month more moisturizing though and I wished it would lather so I don’t feel I am dragging my fingers accross my face. At least body soap is slippery and easy to massage with. One plus is that the cleanser can be used as a no rinse makeup remover, which is pretty good as it doesn’t leave a greasey film on my face like Mabelline and it is decent at removing little smudges without intefering with the parts where makeup doesn’t need to be reapplied.

The day cream has the same active ingredients as my oil free Neutragena sunscreen and the masque was similar to the Proactive clay mask I already use, but MB doesn’t list the ingredients for their masque so I can’t for sure say it is the same 6% Sulfur that Proactive uses or not. I was instructed to use the masque 2x per week on my T zone and ma currently breaking out on my nose and chin, but I am trying to blame that on summer heat or hormones as I really want to give this MB system a chance.

When I initially ordered the start up kit, it comes with a book that offers other products not included in the kit but also the products that were included. I was disappointed to see that in reading about the products I received, some of them did not mention containing the melon extract (which is the ingredient all of the hype is about) leaving me feeling I could probably replace the products like the day cream with the Neutragena sunscreen and the cleanser with something like Cetafil without changing the overall outcome of the increase in deweyness or the reduction in lines.

Overall, I am reluctantly neutral. I may reorder 2/7 products and do like the online ordering process as I can choose how often I want to reeorder and which products I want.

3 Alice Jones July 27, 2011

Meaningful Beauty caused my skin to burn, itch and form pustules deep under my skin that eventually surfaced and left my face and neck scarred. The only good thing I can say is that the company gave me back all the money I had spent, including shipping and handling, without making me return the product. They just had me throw it out.

When I first received the product, I read over the information booklet and was interested in ordering the capsules that had come as a free gift. That’s when I found out that if you customize your order by adding anything or taking anything away from your regular shipment, you no longer get the “good deal” pricing. Now everything in your kit is priced separately and it becomes very expensive indeed! If you decide you don’t want the original items, just one or two of the products they offer ( like, say – the capsules and the glowing lotion) you pay full price per item and each item is extremely pricey!

I’m so thankful I actually used the products and discovered they were harmful to my skin before I supplemented my kits with anything else!

One more thought, the next time you see the infomercial and are being shown the “rare” melon that stays so fresh for such a long time, notice the fact that the old looking, wrinkled melon next to it is exactly the same type of melon. So, why is it rotting like any other melon would do? Why doesn’t it stay fresh and plump like the same variety one next to it. Watch infomercials carefully. Many of them have dead giveaways like this one. Or, better yet, change the channel.

4 Joshua February 2, 2012

The mysterious french melon is not as relevant as the ingredient extracted from it, which is called “Superoxide Dismutase”. Many readily available melons have this enzyme, but it is almost completely destroyed during the digestion process, and almost none gets to the blood stream. GliSODin is a supplement with a proven oral delivery method to get the enzyme into the blood stream. The most important feature of the enzyme is that it promotes the body’s own production of certain antioxidants which keep you young and have other benefits. The supplement is available at most drug stores and online through many ditributors. More research can be done at http://www.glisodin.com or by doing a google search for ‘superoxide dismutase’. – JW
Joshua´s last blog post ..Movement Is A Journey

5 MaryAnne December 4, 2012

this product did nothing but clog my pores!!!! Returned a kit, canceled further kits and it took 3 months to be credited. Don’t do it ladies, so not worth it!

6 Sharon February 3, 2013

It’s not hard to figure out what melon is being used. All you have to do is type “French melons” in your google search & click on the images of & it’s one of the first pictures.
I’ve been seeing a lot of commercials for Meaningful Beauty lately & was curious. I knew I recognized the melon, as I lived in England for awhile & I’ve eaten more than several of these melons. So I don’t think the melon is all that rare.

7 Patty February 4, 2013

I had purchased Meaningful Beauty before reading the reviews, which was a mistake. Most of the reviews were for the poor customer service. I did not have that problem when calling, they were very nice, but useless. I have a very bad reaction to the product. I was actually in bed for two days with such discomfort. It started out with just burning, then the blotching. The 3rd day I had swelling and paid that I could not relieve. I am at work today trying to hid my face. It looks like I had a bad chemical peel. I have had reactions in the past to a lot of products, mostly redness and dry, nothing like this. If you have any reactions to any skin care product, stay far away from Meaningful Beauty. They should really put a warning to test the skin first, that there can be serious side effects. Live an learn, no more purchasing products from the TV. Youthful Essence also caused a very bad peel and burn on my skin, but nothing like Meaningful Beauty, there is nothing to relieve the pain, I guess I have to wait it out. Just beware of these TV products with entertainers promoting them. We have to realize they DO get injections to keep their skin young looking. There is no way that someone in their 40′s skin looks like it is in their 20′s. It’s just age, our skin does age, we can look good for our age, but not 20 years younger. They are entertainers/actors and they didn’t find the fountain of youth. I am sure that these products have helped some peoples skin, but I am sure others have had reactions like I did. Beware.

8 Kyle March 12, 2013

Let’s have a reality check for one moment…

IF you have bad reactions to a lot of skin care products, don’t blame the product for your stupidity and laziness for not going to the doctor first.
IF you can’t afford it, don’t buy it.
IF you hear special introductory offer, you’re signing up for something.
IF you think you’re buying a magic potion that will make you 20, get your head examined.
IF you are receiving continuity shipments, know what you signed up for.. You can’t call a company evil or a scam because you’re TOO lazy to read or even listen.
IF they offer you 60 days to return the product, it MUST be working for someone.
IF you get angry while reading this, this message applies to you.

Your friend,

Reality

9 Steve Martínez May 29, 2013

For few minutes, gently massage your face with this mixture in upward direction.
The above mixture can wash and scrub the sebum oils from the skin approximately wholly,
leaving your skin totally vulnerable to drying. Dry skin is not fun, and
with the cold weather months coming I am not excited for dealing with tight and dehydrated skin.
Steve Martínez´s last blog post ..Steve Martínez

10 Raquel August 25, 2013

I used the eye cream only. It immediately burned when I put it on, that should have been a sign. I thought nothing of it and used it on and off for almost 2 mos. Over that time I had all sorts of problems with my eyes, itching and swelling, then it would go away. I could not pinpoint what the problem was because I was not using the product everyday. Then one night I used a lot of the product on my eyes and the next morning my eyes were red, itchy, and super swollen. The skin basically burned off around my eyes a few days later. My eyes are slowly recovering,the skin grew back. They are still so dry and somewhat swollen. It has already been 2 weeks and still they look better but pretty bad overall. It is like I have a severe sunburn on my eyes and surrounding skin. So I did research and found that others have had the same allergic reaction. I am about to see my doctor. So thank you meaningful beauty for burning my eyes and costing me an extra 150 dollars to see my doc and get meds. ):