See What Your Kids Can Create With Bendaroos

by Theresa on December 12, 2008 · 26 comments

Bendaroos kind of reminds of the pipecleaners we used as a kid. We used to make little figures and animals by bending the wires. This is basically how Bendaroos works but their basically colored wax on a string. You can easily conform them to any shape. They can also be cut and stuck together without tools or glue.

It comes with 250 rainbow colored Bendroos plus 250 more Bendaroos in neon colors. They also include a fun guide for different craft ideas. You can find this product at Walmart or Walgreens. Product is very popular so phone before you go to pick them up! Wikki Sticks are very similar to Bendaroos but Wikki Sticks don't have the variety of bold colors like Bendaroos.

Here's a really great [tags]bendaroos[/tags]review that Heartland News did recently showing you what a classroom of younger kids thought of Bendaroos.


Pros

  • Sticks hold their shape
  • You can cut them
  • Kids can build, draw, transform and decorate anything
  • Kids can make neat decorative effects on the most ordinary items
  • Multiple colors – regular and neon included in pack
  • No glue, mess or stains
  • Unbreakable
  • Unbend sticks to reuse over and over again
  • Could be used for adult decorative craft projects even though its marketed to kids
Here's a neat Bendaroos snowman!

Here's a neat Bendaroos Snowman!

Cons

  • It’s a choking hazard for children under three.
  • There aren't a lot of creative designs in the Bendaroos fun guide. The infomercial makes them so irresistible for kids yet don't give them enough neat projects and kids.
  • Unless your kids are very creative they may get bored of them quite easily.
  • Smaller children might not have the manual dexterity to play with them on their own and may need mom and dad's help.
  • Both Bendaroos and Wikki Stiks leave a waxy residue on hands and surfaces. The worst part would be if you're kids drop them on the carpet and step on them. These toys will leave a residue and carpet lint will be on the sticks.
  • There is an issue with the billing system at the Bendaroos site. I'm not suggesting they are doing this intentionally. There are a few people who report that, once there after placing their order they are asked if they want an upgrade to buy more sticks for less money. But beware because each has an additional shipping and handling charge.
  • There is no summary of your order before you check out. Then apparently if you call the office you have to wait around 4 hours for the order processing to go through before they can correct your order.

If it's more convenient for you, you can pick some up here on eBay.


BENDAROOS 2 Pkgapprox 890 Flexible Build Sticks How To Cards Read Descriptio
BENDAROOS 2 Pkgapprox 890 Flexible Build Sticks How To Cards Read Descriptio
$5.00
Time Remaining: 11h 21m

Bendaroos Mega Pack 500 Pieces Magical Wax Over Flexible String AS SEEN ON TV
Bendaroos Mega Pack 500 Pieces Magical Wax Over Flexible String AS SEEN ON TV
$11.50
Time Remaining: 16d 20h 36m
Buy It Now for only: $11.50

Bendaroos MEGA 500 Piece Glow in the Dark Kit
Bendaroos MEGA 500 Piece Glow in the Dark Kit
$13.95
Time Remaining: 5d 4h 19m
Buy It Now for only: $13.95

Bendaroos Animals 100 PCS Ages 3+ Building Sticks
Bendaroos Animals 100 PCS Ages 3+ Building Sticks
$8.90
Time Remaining: 26d 13h 40m
Buy It Now for only: $8.90

Bendaroos Incomplete Set of Mega Pack
Bendaroos Incomplete Set of Mega Pack
$10.00
Time Remaining: 13d 13h 24m
Buy It Now for only: $10.00

Bendaroos 300 Piece Set SpongeBob SquarePants Birthdays Holidays Presents Kids
Bendaroos 300 Piece Set SpongeBob SquarePants Birthdays Holidays Presents Kids
$9.99
Time Remaining: 4d 14h 6m
Buy It Now for only: $9.99

BENDAROOS 500 PIECE MEGA SET INCLUDES 250 RAINBOW  250 NEON NEW IN BOX
BENDAROOS 500 PIECE MEGA SET INCLUDES 250 RAINBOW 250 NEON NEW IN BOX
$9.99 (1 Bid)
Time Remaining: 13h 28m

NEW BENDAROOS CREATIVITY CENTER SCULPTING STATION SHAPING TOOLS
NEW BENDAROOS CREATIVITY CENTER SCULPTING STATION SHAPING TOOLS
$15.29
Time Remaining: 26d 16h 4m
Buy It Now for only: $15.29

Bendaroos Glow in the Dark 100 Pc Kit
Bendaroos Glow in the Dark 100 Pc Kit
$3.99
Time Remaining: 23d 14h 56m
Buy It Now for only: $3.99

Bendaroos 500 Piece Mega Set
Bendaroos 500 Piece Mega Set
$9.99
Time Remaining: 3d 21h 28m
Buy It Now for only: $9.99

Bendaroos Animals 100 PCS Ages 3+ Building Sticks
Bendaroos Animals 100 PCS Ages 3+ Building Sticks
$9.25
Time Remaining: 23d 16h 37m
Buy It Now for only: $9.25

Bendaroos Glow in the Dark 500 Mega Piece
Bendaroos Glow in the Dark 500 Mega Piece
$13.99
Time Remaining: 15h 45m
Buy It Now for only: $13.99


Bendaroos Art Ideas - Update Many of you are looking for creative little things your kids can do with Bendaroos. I scoured the internet and I did find something on the Wikki site. This product is very similiar to Bendaroos.  They aren't really exciting but I appreciate that they at least put something up on their site for kids. Bendaroo or Wikki Craft Projects Bendaroo or Wikki Educational Type Craft Projects Here are the links that open in a new window. Scroll down to the very bottom of the Wikki site pages. Then you'll see pg 2 you can click on to see more crafts. You can also use those dot to dot books where kids trace the pictures. Kids can use those to trace a picture than let it dry and peel it off. Jennifer commented that her daughter uses pipecleaner art ideas when making Bendaroo crafts. Here's some Bendaroos/pipecleaner art ideas on video. By the way, if you still want to try Bendaroos you can buy 500 piece Mega sets on eBay for a fairly good price.

More Bendaroos Art Ideas

If you're kids are looking for more creative ideas I found this "Pipecleaners Gone Crazy Book". It has step by step pictures to show your kids to make all sorts of things. They can of course substitute pipecleaners for their Bendaroos. It covers the basics and kids can make the following... with easy step by step instructions with pictures so kids can understand. Flower, bee, bear, caterpillar, butterfly, dog, lion, tiger, mouse, bird, dinosaur, people, jewelry and food.

Pipecleaners Gone Crazy on Amazon

By the way, Martha Stewart seems into pipe cleaner art. So if you're kids are looking for Christmas art work for Bendaroos they can print these out and follow the instructions and look at the finished art to help them along with their projects. You might not be using the exact same materials but kids can at least get some ideas from these pics.

Jewelery
Creatures
Candy Cane
Snowman
snowflake - more complex
reindeer - more complex
YouTube Preview Image
Bendaroos and Wikki Stix arts and crafts toys seem to be better suited for kids with a lot patience, a creative mind and fairly good manual dexterity. Otherwise they just might end up on a shelf somewhere gathering dust!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 26 comments… read them below or add one }

1 andrea December 13, 2008

i just want to thank you for this review. very informative and timely because my boys are asking for it (again and again.) and i was about to order it from the website, but i’m going to try walgreens first. thanks for the tip!

2 Theresa December 14, 2008

Thanks Andrea,

So glad I could help. Yeah that was perfect timing! Last night I couldn’t decide what to review the Bendaroos or the new Pixos toy. Guess I choose well…. Have a great Christmas. :-)

3 Diana December 17, 2008

I got mine at walmart for $19.99 and the package came with 500. I researched and the Bendaroos are better than Wikisticks because the Wikisticks leave a residue and gets carpet fibers, dust, hairs, etc stuck to them. I would just recommend you call your Walgreens before going to get them, because they seem to be pretty popular.

4 Theresa December 18, 2008

Hi there Diana,

Thank you so much for leaving that helpful advice.
There are so many parents looking for info on this product and very little information available.
I completely forgot to check with Walmart to see if they’ve got it. :-)

Theresa Kruger (admin)

5 Angie February 25, 2009

I just placed an order from Bendaroos website and found this review. I called to customer service # and talked with Bendaroos customer serview representative.
It seems they did upgrad their customer service.
I talked with the representative in a minute and he was very kind and helpful. I also found out that Bendaroos are not available in Walmart or Walgreens in Texas. Only Eastcost area.

6 Theresa February 25, 2009

That’s good to hear…Thanks for the update Angie!

7 Sashalyn May 9, 2009

I completely agree that the infomercial gets the kids hooked on wanting this item b/c of all the cool things you could do, but the fun guide only includes a few. My daughter keeps asking me to help her make the ice cream one and I don’t even know where to start. It’s definitely not as easy as the infomercial shows it to be. The concept is cool, but it’d be nice to have more examples/instructions.

8 Jennifer August 15, 2009

If you google pipe cleaner crafts, there are tons of creatures that you can use as a base guide and embellish the designs a bit to make them more sturdy with bendaroos. We have done lots of designs this way.

9 Theresa August 16, 2009

Oh wow thanks Jennifer! And here I’ve been racking my brain trying to find some ideas. I feel so dumb I never thought of that.

Here’s some Bendaroos/pipecleaner art ideas on video. There’s so many kids looking for some inspiration. Thanks so much!

10 SaraB October 1, 2009

We’ve been using Wikki Sticks for years and only once in the last 3 years did we have an issue. My daughter left them in the car during the summer and of course they melted. They don’t leave anymore residue on hands then maybe play doh. Nothing a hand wipe or washing couldn’t fix. I’ve only noticed that happening after we’ve had them awhile and they are taken in and out of warm places. Such as the car. We love Wikki Sticks and I will not buy any other copy cat. Amazon has some kits now and both neon and rainbow colors. You get what you pay for and we will stick with Wikki. Bendaroos are at CVS as well.

11 Anne December 12, 2009

Bendaroos is a great product because it allows my children to have fun and be creative.

12 Sarah January 5, 2010

Bendaroo’s are great but I do agree the templates are hard to follow. My daughter usually just takes them out of the pack and uses her imagination! The neat thing about them is they stick to basically everything . I wonder if you can make a barbie dress out of them?? I guess I shall find out! There are so many naked barbies around this house! haha

13 Theresa January 9, 2010

Hey there’s a great idea…barbie clothing! That’s funny! :)

14 Princess Kitten May 25, 2010

We’ve been using Wikki Sticks for years and only once in the last 3 years did we have an issue. My daughter left them in the car during the summer and of course they melted. They don’t leave anymore residue on hands then maybe play doh. Nothing a hand wipe or washing couldn’t fix. I’ve only noticed that happening after we’ve had them awhile and they are taken in and out of warm places. Such as the car. We love Wikki Sticks and I will not buy any other copy cat. Amazon has some kits now and both neon and rainbow colors. You get what you pay for and we will stick with Wikki. Bendaroos are at CVS as well.

15 kerry August 3, 2010

wow there realy good thay keep children entertaid for hours :o

16 tessa August 4, 2010

im 9 and i love bendaroos :) there awsome i made a flowers baskets and a butiful doggy

17 haley August 10, 2010

im 10 and i <3 bendaroos there so cool i am decorating a picture frame for my sis….(:

18 Jennifer August 23, 2010

I take care of a group of ten kids that range in age from 4-12. I just feel safer buying Wikki Stix instead. They’re made in the USA and non-toxic. I’ve read a lot of product reviews on both Wikki Stix and Bendaroos, and basically it comes down to the old saying, “You get what you pay for.” Plus, I like to support companies with integrity. Wikki Stix had the original concept. They are not a copy cat company that outsources to China.

19 Jennifer September 17, 2010

My daughter received Bendaroos’s for her birthday last year, she has only tried to use them couple times..only to be very frustrated because they will not stick together nor hold their shape.. Everyone on here has good things to say about the product..but no luck for us..Any sugestions?

20 Theresa September 21, 2010

You could try rubbing them together with your hands to warm them up a bit. This should make them more pliable and then press them firmly together.

It’s also a good idea to store them at room temperature and keep them in a sealed plastic bag. Keep away from direct sunlight and cold temperatures as well. :-)

21 Jennifer October 2, 2010

There are some Wikki Stix pictures of our project posted on my blog if you would like some new ideas. Scroll down to the Sept. 3rd post. We have lots of fun with them. I just ordered more, (the Super Wikki Stix that are 3 ft. long)
.-= Jennifer´s last blog ..Full Page Samples =-.

22 Stephanie October 22, 2010

Very cool solar system project Jennifer! I plan to share that with my fellow teachers. I just saw this commercial http://www.mywikkistix.net/catalog/ and decided to do a little research on Bendaroos vs. Wikki Stix. Glad I found this link. (I’m going with Wikki Stix)

23 nikki October 31, 2010

thank you so much! i am making a dog for my boy friend out of Bendaroo’s. i am very greatful to your research.

24 Theresa November 15, 2010

Right on! Wikki Stix has their own infomercial now! They were the ones with the original idea….Stepanie, I added your video in my blog post! Thanks for sharing!

25 Marissa July 16, 2011

i just don’t know how you make those 3D objects out of bendaroos………..

26 Mark Satern December 3, 2011

Wikki is owned by Kem Clark, a friend of mine. She doesn’t know I’m writing this. Bendaroos is a copycat product. Wikki Stix came first by nearly 20 years. I have watched the whole process from the sidelines. It ain’t purty.

Some interesting facts you should be aware of. After the patent came off, Bendaroos parent company, Merchant Media, pirated the Wikki’s idea. This is actually their business model. They have numerous other copycat productlines too. (www.merchantmedia.com)

They steal someone else’s idea and then throw a lot of money into mass marketing a stolen product concept. Frequently, as is the case with Wikki Stix, their product is close to the original but actually inferior is subtle ways. Everything they do is legal…but just barely. It is highly unethical, but that means nothing to them. If you should decide research this, you could quite likely find a good story here. You will find that this bunch has a bad name in a lot of circles. I think there is or was at least one law suit on other products. (I looked them up on the internet a while back but have forgotten the details.) They also have apparently had a bunch of complaints about how they fill or don’t fill TV orders in a timely way…or at all. (This information came off internet complaints.)

Worse than pirating products, as is the case with Wikki Stix, these guys don’t stop at stealing the original concept. They also steal virtually every new product variation and marketing idea that Kem comes up with to promote Wikkis. They wait for Kem to come up with something new and interesting, then they steal it…almost verbatum. She does something and within weeks, there they are with the same thing. As a result of this and their much larger capital base, Bendaroos have now gained significant marketing recognition with the public.

All of these sort of shabby business practices have, you can guess, caused no end of grief to Kem Clark. I urge you to consider this information in any future product comparisons you do, and to perhaps check out my accusations. Should you do that, you might find much more interesting material for future articles. You might also be able to save the world from shabby operators such as these guys.