Pet Vac Collects Hair From Your Pet Instead of Your Furniture

by Theresa on May 30, 2009 · 17 comments

Pet Vac kind of reminds me of the Flowbee or Robocut pet attachment. The concept is very similar. Vacuum your furry friend before all that pet hair has a chance to scatter all over your house, furniture and clothes. The only problem with using a vacuum directly on your pet is that they completely freak out from the noise! That's why this Pet Vac has an extra long hose so you can keep your vaccum over in the next room. Ahhhh genius idea but does it actually work?

Pet Vac - Does it really work?

Pet Vac - Does it really work?

Pet Vac Claims

  1. "Let Pet Vac get rid of that hair! Pet Vac eliminates hair problems and makes grooming fun!" "Pets actually enjoy Pet Vac," the commercial adds.
  2. "Use Pet Vac at bath time, it works dry and wet."
  3. "When the collection is full you simply empty it." (As they dump a half full bucket of pet hair in the trash)
  4. The commercial shows that you first hook up one end of the extra long plastic hose to your vacuum cleaner and the other end to the Pet Vac. Then the grooming brush is attached  to a long suction hose. The hair is supposed to collect in the Pet Vac bucket.

Pet Vac Review

Pet Vac Test Results

Three news stations set out to find if Pet Vac really works.  They tested the Pet Vac on both dogs and cats alike. Their results?

http://honestinfomercialreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/video/petvac.flv

I've just been informed that they have not hooked up the Pet Vac correctly in the video.You can see the long hose is on the side of the filter.  This is the side where the vacuum hose should be. There is also a mark on the cover to identify the right side. So in this case the points that I've made below do not apply.

Test 1 - Regular grooming

  • I've just been informed that in the video review
  • The pets who were used to being professionally groomed seemed to tolerate the Pet Vac. Some even enjoyed it! For some of the pets that weren't used to being professionally groomed, the sound of the vacuum still bothered them.
  • In all tests, the groomers noticed that the [tags]pet vac[/tags]suction was very poor and they were all using standard vacuum cleaners.
  • As far as the Pet Vac grooming attachment, the groomers mentioned that they typically use better brushes that have longer bristles and that are more rigid. This helps to reach deeper into the coat.
  • After grooming the pets, they checked the Pet Vac bucket and only found a few hairs sticking to the filters and side of the bucket. In comparison, when they used a regular grooming brush, they collected much more hair than the vacuum.

Test 2 - Use on wet fur at bath time

  • The groomer tried to suck up water in a bucket. It's just moved the water around. In the bucket there wasn't even one drop of water!

Pet Vac seems to take a lot of work to collect such a small amount of hair. The groomers mentioned that they were quite disappointed and they don't see where it did anything. A slicker hair brush would get that much hair out and in much quicker time. I wish I had some good news but it looks like this product is a dud. Here's another clever idea for pet owners, the Pet Zoom... who knows why they named it that!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

{ 17 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Marie June 2, 2009

That sounds great! I’ll have to give it try! But for any of those hairs that still might end up on the furniture, I really recommend Fur-Zoff. Its Made of recylced material and lasts forever for $9.99. You can find it at http://www.furzoff.net. Thanks again!

2 jle July 21, 2009

>”…the groomers mentioned that they typically use better brushes…”

Who actually tested the product? If they were professional pet groomers, I’d have to question their objectivity as they’d have a vested interest.

3 Theresa July 23, 2009

I know what you mean but the groomers didn’t mention or show the type of dog brush they normally use. =) I know it would have been better if I did the review personally, but I did find several video reviews from reliable sources and they all came to the same conclusion.

4 Corinne February 28, 2010

I am wondering how effective this product is for cats who should be brushed (admittedly more often than I do), particularly now that the seasons are changing (or at least I hope they are!) and they will begin to shed their winter fur. Does this have to hook up to a vacuum cleaner, or is it a self-contained unit (I have a central vac). I’d appreciate anyone’s feedback, especially regarding grooming cats with this product.

5 Theresa March 1, 2010

Corinne, yes you have to hook it up to the vacuum for it to work. You hook up one end of the long plastic hose to the Pet Vac and the other end to your vacuum cleaner. Animals seem to tolerate the noise even though it’s still a bit noisy. The only problem is that it hardly sucks up any hair. A hairbrush gets much more hair out than the Pet Vac. It’s too bad it ‘s a nice concept but it’s not effective.

6 Scott March 24, 2010

This video is of little value. The tool used is meant for removing LOOSE hair, dander or water following a bath. There is a different tool for removing hair called the Shed Eliminator. It has a built in comb and a large opening for sucking up the combed out hair.

7 Karen May 28, 2010

I bought this product but I bought just the basic. It’s just the hose and the brush/deshedder. I hooked it up to my 5gal shopvac and it was great! My australian shepherd/golden retriever loves it and it’s keeping the hair down in my house! I think if you use the bucket thing that goes inbetween the vacuum and the hose you would lose a lot of the suction, as I see it, it only stands to reason…

8 Theresa September 9, 2010

Roland, you were asking about the price of the Pet Vac. It’s $30 plus $8 s/h. There’s a similar product now on TV called the Shed Vac. That one doesn’t really work so great from what I hear. There’s not enough power and dogs are scared to get near it. That one goes for $20 plus $8 s/h but I’m sure you can pick them up at an As Seen on TV store, Walmart, Bed Bath and Beyond and save yourself the shipping.

9 Judy September 20, 2010

I purchased one of these for my beagle who sheds nonstop. Even with the vacuum in the next room and the TV turned up, I couldn’t hold onto her long enough to do any vacuuming. To this day she insists on going outback whenever we get the vacuum cleaner out!

10 SHARIE R October 10, 2010

I WISH TO NOT GIVE MY NAME BUT I HAVE ORDRED THE SHEDVABEFORE AND YOU CAN NOT GET A LIVE OPERATOR TO SPEAK TO TALK TO YOU ABOUT THE STATUS OF MY ACCOUNT OR HOW MANY DECADES YOU ARE PLANNING TO TAKE TO SEND ME FROM MY FIRST ORDER. CAN I ASK IF YOU ARE RUNNING A SCAM????????I WILLO BE CHECKING MY ACCOUNT TO SEE IF YOU HAVE WITHDO2N THE PRICE OF THE SPEEP VAC TWICE FORM MY ACCOUNT AND IF YOU HAVE,YOU WILL HAVE A LOT OF EXPLAINING TO DO. IT WILL BE NICE TO HAVE LIVE OPERATORS ANSWEREING YOUR PHONEWS FOR QUESTIONS OF PEOPLE. yOU KNOW WE ARE IN A RECESSION SO WHY DON’T YOU HELP MY ACTUALLY USING HUMAN LIFE PEOPLE TO ANSWER THE PHONE???????????????????

11 Theresa October 19, 2010

Sharie, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience with the Shed Vac. It absolutely horrible how some of these companies treat people.

I know this doesn’t help your situation but just so you know… I do completely separate reviews on these infomercial products in hopes that others will find my site and other’s who have left comments. This seems to be a common occurrence through some of these infomercial companies.

I don’t know what else to say but I feel terrible that they’ve done this to you. Are you able to contact your credit card company and discuss how to get your money back?

12 webpa January 20, 2011

Watch the video closely: They had the thing hooked up BACKWARDS!!! The side of the cannister with the filter is supposed to be hooked to the vacuum cleaner as clearly shown on the last page of the manual. They had the grooming hose hooked up to the OUTLET so the foam filter/ball valve clogged up with hair almost instantly. I’d give the “journalist” a 0 out of 100 score. The PetVac gets an 85.

13 webpa January 22, 2011

The TV “reporter” connected the thing BACKWARDS!!!!! I have one. It works pretty much as advertised…if you connect the vacuum cleaner as shown in the manual. The “reporter” should be fired for incompetence…and evidently has been. KDKA no longer lists her as an employee.

14 dutchman February 10, 2011

Whuaaaah! I had the same experience as in the video. I also had id HOOKED UP WRONG. You can see the long hose is on the side of the filter. This is the side where the vacuum hose should be. There is also a mark on the cover to identify the right side.
I have to say, it does work just like in the commercial.

A rectification should be applied to this article.

15 Carla February 11, 2011

I bought a PetVac almost a year ago and love it. You do have to connect it to a vacuum that actually works, the one in the video is a brand I’ve had and have thrown out since it couldn’t pick up anything unless you held it to the end of the hose, but with a good vacuum it works just as shown in the ad. I get huge globs of hair in the canister when my dogs are shedding, it’s a huge timesaver and leaves the dogs coats feeling nice and clean.
The dogs got used to the vac pretty quickly, I had to keep a couple on leash for their first session to convince them it wasn’t so scary. But now they push and shove to be the first vacuumed when I take it out. Once they realise it feels pretty good they seem to like it.
The canister prevents the dog hair from filling my vacuum cleaner bags, saves me money.
I worked as a dog groomer for a number of years, now I have a housecleaning business. Most of my clients have pets, the PetVac is something I recommend to them.
If you have a vac with good suction, this will work great. My vac is a Sears Progressive canister model. Works perfectly with this.

16 Anne Piotti June 2, 2011

I’m quite confused about the tests… The first test was not userful because the testers didn’t read the directions, so why post it? The second test all you wrote was they moved water around and then the bucket was empty. What does Petvac have to do with sucking up water out of a bucket. And I agree with Marie… Why would you have Pet Groomers giving a review of a product that could put them out of business? Of course they won’t give a good review.

17 thomas fry February 19, 2012

THANK YOU..you saved me from buying another useless product